Facebook Messenger 101: How to Hide Your 'Active' Status to Go Incognito Online

How to Hide Your 'Active' Status to Go Incognito Online

For all its advantages, Facebook Messenger isn't the best for those who like their privacy. The popular app lets all your Facebook friends know when you're online by default, making it impossible to check up with one person without leaving yourself vulnerable to your entire friend list. Luckily, this feature is one you can turn off.

How to disable your "Active" status isn't apparent from the outset, especially on iOS. Facebook probably does not want you turning your status off easily, possibly to make it more likely for friends you contact you more frequently. With that said, it's a simple process, however, the trick varies across platforms.

Disabling 'Active' Status on iOS

Hiding your active status on Facebook Messenger is simple, yet hidden. To start, tap "People" at the bottom of the display, tap "Active" on the following page (if Messenger does not default to this page automatically), then tap the slider to the right of your name to disable your active status.

You can still message friends and start new conversations, however, none of your contacts will see you as "Active." If you need to re-enable the status, simply follow the above directions again, or tap "Active" from the main screen and tap "Turn On."

Disabling 'Active' Status on Android

Facebook made turning this feature off on Android a little easier than on iOS. All you have to do is tap your profile picture in the top-right corner of the app, tap "Availability" under your name, then tap the slider if set to "On." Tap "Turn Off" when prompted, and your account's active status will be hidden.

Just as on iOS, you can reverse this decision by following the above instructions, or by tapping "Active" on the main page, then by tapping "Turn On."

Cover image and screenshots by Jake Peterson/Gadget Hacks

Be the First to Comment

Share Your Thoughts

  • Hot
  • Latest